Germany Wins World Cup 2014

Germany Wins World Cup 2014 – FIFA World Cup 2014 Finals Germany VS Argentina

World Cup 2014 Finals Argentina VS Germany Results 

FULL TIME: Argentina 0-1 Germany


Mario Götze 113′

Germany Vs Argentina 2014 World Cup Finals

Mario Götze scored a wonderful extra time winner as Germany beat Argentina 1-0 to claim the FIFA World Cup 2014 at the Estadio Maracana. The Bayern Munich player came off the bench to coolly chest and volley home the goal after great work by Andre Schürrle on the left to end a 24 year wait for Die Mannschaft.

The goal came with just 7 minutes of extra time remaining and see Germany claim a 4th World Cup title and made history by becoming the first European team to win the tournament in South America. The match had begun at a lightning pace but faded badly in the second half and looked all set for penalties as the game went into extra time until Götze struck.

Argentina Gonzalo Higuain missed a glorious opportunity early on before having his moment of redemption stolen away when he was correctly flagged offside while finishing off a sublime move involving both Lionel Messi and Ezequiel Lavezzi.

Germany super sub Schürrle’s effort was beaten away by Argentina Keeper Sergio Romero before Benedikt Hoewedes somehow managed to crash a free header against the post from inside the six yard box on the stroke of half time.

After the restart, Lionel Messi could and should have made it his World Cup moment but dragged his shot wide and it proved to the the best of the action until extra time when Andre Schürrle tested Romero and Argentina’s substitute Rodrigo Palacio lobbed off target when clear.

Mario Götze finally made the breakthrough with his wonderful finish and Argentina couldn’t recover as Joachim Löw’s side held on to win their 4th World Cup title, levelling with Italy and just one behind Brazil, the host nation.

Argentina VS Germany 2014 World Cup Finals

It was a win that the Germans truly deserved. In recent years, Germany have enjoyed an unlikely status as the neutral’s favourites. But with the softening of their image came the fear that they had lost the steely ruthlessness that brought them so much silverware. This Germany team had played the best football at Brazil 2014, but also showed the toughness to mix it with Argentina in an absorbing but attritional contest. Germany traded blows in a sapping contest then, when the opportunity to make history came knocking, Mario Götze seized it. Argentina has Lionel Messi, but Germany had the best team.

Germany coach Joachim Löw credits predecessor Jurgen Klinsmann for a Germany’s World Cup triumph and a “10 year project”. The coach lifted the trophy in Rio de Janeiro after a 1-0 victory in extra time over Argentina and their first World Cup title since 1990.

Löw said, “We started this project 10 years ago and what has happened today is the result of many year’s work, starting with Jurgen Klinsmann. We’ve made constant progress, we believed in the project, we worked a lot and, if any group deserves it, it’s this team. We’ve always played good football and I believe that over this tournament, over 7 matches, we’ve shown the best performances of any of the teams here in Brazil. The boys have also developed a team spirit which is unbelievable.”

Mario Gotze Germany Wonder Boy

Are Germany Set To Dominate?

The Germans have finally emerged and proved to be the most consistent side throughout this FIFA World Cup 2014. It was a tournament where they came of age and with such a wealth of young talented players with the likes of Thomas Müller, Toni Kroos, Andre Schürrle and Mario Götze they could be set for a Golden era of successes.

Germany Vs Argentina

Man Of The Match: Mario Götze (Germany)

Golden Ball Award: Lionel Messi (Argentina)

Golden Gloves Award: Manuel Neuer (Germany)

Golden Boot Award: James Rodriguez (Colombia)

Young Player Award: Paul Pogba (France)

Germany v Argentina: 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil Final

Lionel Messi Manuel Neuer

Manuel Neuer Golden Gloves

Click Here For More Details On The Match Report

World Cup 2014 Finals Argentina VS Brazil Results 

Germany celebrates winning FIFA World Cup 2014

Related Posts


[…] the 2010 FIFA World Cup and Euro 2012, having mde his international debut in 2010. After wining the FIFA World Cup 2014, Kroos signed a 6 year contract with La Liga Club Real Madrid and will reportedly earn £5.3 […]

[…] scored a total of 6 goals at the FIFA World Cup 2014, finishing as the top scorer – one above Germany’s Thomas Mueller – while his stunning 25 yard volley against […]

Leave a reply