Golden Ball Nominees

FIFA has announced nominees for Golden Ball.

The Golden Ball is awarded to the best player at the World Cup, with the winner voted for by representatives of the media. The Golden Ball award was first handed out to Argentina striker Mario Kempes at the 1978 World Cup and has since been awarded to the likes of Diego Maradona, Ronaldo, Zinedine Zidane and Diego Forlan.

The top 10 nomineesĀ for the FIFA World Cup 2014 Brazil Golden Ball award has been anounced by FIFA. The players include:

Golden Ball Nominees

World Cup Finalists Germany’s Mats Hummels, Philipp Lahm, Toni Kroos and Thomas Mueller ;

Argentina’s Angel Di Maria, Javier Mascherano, Lionel Messi;

Colombia and World Cup leading goal scorer for this tournament James Rodriguez with 6 goals;

Netherlands’ Arjen Robben who tormented defences throughout;

Brazil’s Neymar who has been superb until he was kneed in the back.

Up for the Golden Gloves award for the best goalkeeper in the tournament are:

Germany’s Manuel Neuer;

Argentina’s Sergio Romero;

Costa Rica’s Keylor Navas.

The best Young Player award is between:

France’s Paul Pogba and Raphael Varane;

Netherlands’ Memphis Depay.

Golden Ball Nominees | Golden Gloves Nominees | Young Players Award Nominees | FIFA World Cup 2014

Related Posts

Leave a reply